Leadership Team

2018-2020 HECMA Leadership Team

​Please note that HECMA is a professional association whose Leadership Team members are engaged in full time roles at universities and colleges across North America. In order to ensure our work-association balance, please use email as your primary source of communication. Arrangements for phone consultation will be made as needed after that web-based contact.Thank you for your understanding.

President
Term of service: 2018-2020

Laurel D. Banks
University of North Carolina – School of the Arts
leadership@hecma.org

Vice President, Conferences and Special Events
Term of service: 2017-2019

Jacqui Tisdale
University of Rhode Island
conference@hecma.org

Director, Membership and Recruitment
Term of service: 2018-2020

Doha Chibani
University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
membership@hecma.org

Director, Training and Development
Term of service: 2018-2019

Kipp Van Dyke
Iowa State University 
training@hecma.org

Director, Finance
Term of service: 2017-2019

Carrie Smith
University of Georgia
finance@hecma.org

Director, Communications and Marketing
Term of service: 2018-2020

David Wiltshire
Duke University 
communications@hecma.org

Director, Operations and Strategic Planning
Term of service: 2017-2019

Mona Dugo
Northwestern University
operations@hecma.org

Director, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
Term of service: 2018-2020

Sean Joy
Gonzaga University
diversity@hecma.org

Clinical Case Manager at Large
Term of service: 2018-2020

Alicia Talbird
University of Georgia
clinicalcm@hecma.org

Non-Clinical Case Manager at Large
Term of service: 2017-2019

Rachael Stark
Temple University
nonclinicalcm@hecma.org

Our work in higher education case management continues to provide the higher education community with multiple ways of understanding how distress impacts individuals and their institutions of higher learning and the supports needed to buoy success. Further, with roles in clinical practice settings, student services, behavior intervention teams or elsewhere, we represent a cross-section of perspectives that in working together can shape the direct services provided and policies developed to reduce risk to individuals and their living and learning environments in post-secondary settings. To quote Ashley Blamey (HECMA’s first president), “We are the architects of our own work.”

The Leadership Team strives to continue its efforts in broadening the HECMA footprint to meet the professional and practice needs of our field.