HECMA Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

HECMA Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Contact: diversity@hecma.org, HECMA DEI Committee Chair

HECMA’s committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is committed to supporting the entire Association and all of its members in providing resources, educational opportunities, and policies to support the efforts of equitable practices at all membership institutions. We look forward to providing unique, groundbreaking, and transparent supports for all of our members.

The DEI Committee is newly formed and continuing to grow. We welcome all feedback and ideas; please contact the DEI Committee chair at diversity@hecma.org with any comments, questions, or ideas.


During the 2017 Conference in Denver, Colorado, a group of HECMA members proposed the creation of a committee focused on diversity, equity, and inclusion for the association. Following the conference, the Leadership Team approved a Task Force to identify what a committee would look like within HECMA. In the Spring of 2018, the Task Force proposed the official Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, which was then approved by the Leadership Team. Shortly after, the entire HECMA membership voted in favor of the committee. The first Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion was voted in during the Spring 2018 elections. The Committee officially began during the 2018 Annual Conference. The Committee is in its infancy and is continuing to identify the best ways to support the entire HECMA community.

The Original Members of the DEI Task Force:

  • Luis Balcazar, Purdue University
  • Vincent Feliz, Humboldt State University
  • Emily Grady, Cleveland State University
  • Angela Harris, Davidson College
  • Sean Joy (Chair), Gonzaga University
  • Angie Kneflin, Xavier University
  • Aisha Warner, University of South Florida



Focused on providing resources, procedures, and activities to improve what the conferences have to offer regarding DEI best practices, professional development, and community building.

Sarah Grace Walters, Coordinator of Auburn Cares | Auburn University


Dedicated to the support provided for all HECMA members and to the increase of members with various identities from a wide-range of institutional types.

Chair: Cameron Cox, Student Support & Outreach Coordinator | Goucher College

DEI Mission Statement

Committed to the creation of an official Diversity Mission Statement to be approved by Leadership Team and the entire membership.

Chair: Cameron Cox, Student Support & Outreach Coordinator | Goucher College

Educational Opportunities

Focused on the variety of intersectional presentations, trainings, and additional resources that increase members’ abilities to support all identities at their institutions, while also providing personal development based on the intersectional identities of our membership makeup.

Chair: Arianna Holterman, Assistant Dean | University of Illinois


Directed to create DEI related communication in response to national trends, while addressing the work being done by the DEI committee.

Chair: Sean Joy | Director of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion, Case Manager | Gonzaga University


Get Involved

As an Association, we are committed to the holistic support of all of our members. In this commitment, we are excited to facilitate Affinity Groups for HECMA Members. We will officially begin these groups at the 2019 Annual Conference in Cleveland.

Please contact diversity@hecma.org if you are interested in joining a HECMA Affinity Group. You are more than welcome to select multiple groups. If there is a group missing that you feel should have an individual group, please let us know. Further information will be sent prior to the Conference in Cleveland.

  • Professionals of Color
  • LGBTQ+
  • Women of HECMA
  • First-Gen
  • Student Affairs Parents
  • Professionals in Continuing Ed
  • Differing Abilities

Contact: diversity@hecma.org, HECMA DEI Committee Chair